14 Comments

Great photo! What serene and pleasant surroundings! As for that mid-'80s, 3-band bill....that had to be borderline historic, as you had three influential alt bands, not only newly-born, but on the verge of their various levels of "breaking out"----RHCPs were only founded in '82 (believe me, I had to look)! Plus, Long Beach?!? Mega-raw-hard rock/real kinda hotbed there! The Long Beach Arena, alone, is historic in who they've hosted!

So, I was wondering if the Meat Puppets ever came within a tiny inch, say, of settling on "The Beef Marionettes" as their chosen sobriquet, before cooler, if not hipper, heads prevailed. Never one to leave well-enough alone, there's more: Did you know that Jim Henson's original pitch to PBS was about several sock-covered hands doing a show from a nearby bog? Yes, hard though it may be to believe, we almost had a frog and a pig starring as "The Peat Muppets." No truth to the rumor, though, that A&M Records' Jerry Moss was in line to direct. Well, I'll be going now.

I do envy your river trip....you and Bernie look like you had a blast, and even a relaxing blast.

Expand full comment
author

Wow, a double dose of punfoolery! I believe when the Meat Puppets tour under a pseudonym, they do go by the Beef Marionettes. But don’t let that get out or it defeats the purpose (demeats the porpoise?). I think I like The Peat Muppets better though.

And yeah - that was a pretty big triple bill show; at the time, it was 50/50 who was more a headlining band, the MPs or the RHCPs. Not the DMs though. Sadly, all milkmen are now officially dead, unless we start counting the teat pullers. Which is also a great band name.

I’m back home now of a few hours ago. It was a blast and there were two dogs and one day 3 dogs. All of them got along like BFFs. I’ve been up late trying to get the next piece done. I’m very intrigued what you’ll think of it. It’s a big off from my usual style. Only a bit though.

Expand full comment

Glad you're back! Also glad the bow-wows got along. Makes sense, as none have any property or food source to defend! I look forward to your new one! Hope you dig my new one, dropping in 10 minutes as I write this! Can you say 2003 alt anthem turned sports anthem?

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by Steve Goldberg

Great post - I share your feelings about the 4th, and having moved to the UK means I only have to experience it vicariously (though my 13 year old son rang me at school yesterday just so he could sing a few lines of The Star Spangled Banner - he didn't make it far as he started laughing). Though I do miss the 4th being the middle of summer break - many schools don't break up here until late July. And I also feel the same about fireworks - hate them. Not the go-down-to-the-river-bank-and-see-a-proper-show type as those can be works of art, but the idiots-blowing-up-things-in-the-middle-of-the-evening type. Here in England that occurs before, during and after 5th November - when Guy Fawkes 17th century failed attempt to blow up Parliament is celebrated by, well, blowing stuff up and building massive bonfires. Lovely irony.

As for the Meat Puppets - Too High to Die is a GREAT album that I only recently rediscovered while resurrecting my CD collection. Like many, it was their performance on Nirvana's Unplugged session that introduced me to them - and I went straight out and bought both THtD and Meat Puppets II - also, a great one. I'll be listening to both tonight!

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I feel like the Meat Puppets are a quintessential American band. No other band has better blended the punk and jam band aesthetics than the Puppets. I saw them perform right before the pandemic and it was a great show. Kurt and Kris have gained a ton of weight, and sport giant gray beards, but Derek looks the same behind the drums! He rejoined the band right before the tour.

How long ago did you move to the UK? It was so nice not hearing a single blast, explosion or gunshot last night....

Thanks for reading.

Expand full comment

I moved to the UK in August 2002 - came as a visiting teacher and stayed!

Expand full comment

Oh and my husband and daughter are making shawarma - no bbq. The cherry on top is the performative aspect of how she serves the shawarma. Let’s just say there’s a trucker hat involved and some ‘tude and I’m totally there for it

Expand full comment

I share the dislike of fireworks. One night only I can handle but it’s the lingering before and after. My dog is terrified of the sounds and is pretty miserable. Sounds like you have a solid plan of being in a place where you are shielded from the jarring noise. Looks like you are having a blast too! No pun intended.

Expand full comment
author

We never heard a single blast last night! So lovely. I do appreciate your daughter's attention to detail and way with blending cultural traditions: the blue-collar 'Merica trucker-hat and 'tude while making shawarma. That's a particular skill the younger generations are especially adept at.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by Steve Goldberg

I beg to differ with you on one point in your piece. The best dog in the world? Bernie? Maybe he’s the best dog in your world but in THE world, you know damn well it’s Lil Bear! 😂 Happy floating on the river and F*UCK the 4th which represents the founding of one nation by destroying Indigenous nations and stealing their land! #LandBack

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, lil Bear is a close second, but if he can’t handle meeting Bernie then he doesn’t reach Bernie levels…;) And, yeah, I wasn’t gonna go into the larger issue of the 4th, of calling stealing and murder “discovering.” Wanna keep it short and more music focused.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023·edited Jul 4, 2023Liked by Steve Goldberg

My thought on the 4th is that it would be nice if people used it as a chance to reflect on our nation, and gauzy ideals like aspiration, the collective, etc. But I also get why people want to cut loose, rip around on jet skis and blow shit up. I'm usually at work, so maybe that's all just a weird sort of FOMO.

Up on the Sun, and Lake of Fire are perfect for the 4th. Please tell me you quietly sang "Backwater" on one of your trips down the river.

P.S. I never saw the Meat puppets play, but can confirm that RHCP and the Dead Milkmen both tore the roof off when I saw them.

Expand full comment
author

And hell yeah I sang “Backwater” while kayaking down the river! “To feel the daybreak on my face, there’s a blood that’s flowing through the feeling.”

Expand full comment
author

I get why people want to let loose and ride jet skis but blow shit up? I was into that as a teen, but find it enormously immature and inconsiderate from adults. I’m not talking about organized firework events and sparklers; I refer to the people who get a thrill “blowing shit up.” It all triggers (pun intended) my extreme avoidance of a certain kind of macho “war is cool” mentality. I guess I relate to dogs more than most humans these days.

Expand full comment